ID #1213

Set Outlook or Outlook Express to Delete Mail from the Server

Outlook, Outlook Express and Windows MailĀ all allow you to set when and if mail is deleted from the server. If your account is becoming full and you haven't added any files to your website, chances are your mail is accumulating on the server. In most instances you should set mail to be deleted from the server once you have downloaded it to your computer. Here's how:

Windows Mail

  1. Click on the TOOLS menu and select ACCOUNTS.
  2. Select the email account you want to modify and click PROPERTIES.
  3. Select the ADVANCED tab.
  4. In the Delivery section, uncheck "Leave a copy of messages on server."
  5. Click OK and then CLOSE.

Outlook 2007

  1. Click on the TOOLS menu and select ACCOUNT SETTINGS.
  2. Select the email account you want to modify and click CHANGE.
  3. Click MORE SETTINGS in the lower right corner of the Change E-mail Accounts window.
  4. Select the ADVANCED tab.
  5. In the Delivery section, uncheck "Leave a copy of messages on server."
  6. Click OK and then CANCEL and then CLOSE.

Outlook 2003

  1. Click on the TOOLS menu and select EMAIL ACCOUNTS.
  2. Select "View or change email accounts" and click NEXT.
  3. Select the email account you want to modify and click CHANGE.
  4. Click MORE SETTINGS in the lower right corner of the Email Accounts window.
  5. Select the ADVANCED tab.
  6. In the Delivery section, uncheck "Leave a copy of messages on server."
  7. Click OK and then CANCEL.

Outlook Express

  1. Click on the TOOLS menu and select ACCOUNTS.
  2. Select the email account you want to modify and click PROPERTIES.
  3. Select the ADVANCED tab.
  4. In the Delivery section, uncheck "Leave a copy of messages on server."
  5. Click OK and then CLOSE.

Tags: delete mail, save mail

Related entries:

You cannot comment on this entry